Systems that caught my eye

I have spent the last several months away from gaming, but reading a variety of systems ranging from variations on the Apocalypse World rules set (Dungeon World, Monster of the Week and Urban Shadows), the core Dungeons and Dragons 5th ed. books, Call of Cthulhu 7th ed., various Savage Worlds books (Last Sons, The Flood, Stone and a Hard Place, Fantasy Companion, Super Powers Companion), various books from the old Wraith system, Feng Shui 2 and several others that I can’t remember at this time.

I took the time off, because my last group collapsed around the holidays last year, and at first I was waiting on the new year before I started trying to get back into gaming, and then that continued on for another couple of months beyond that, and then I slowly began to look for groups again. I ran a couple of sessions for one group, but the game got canceled. I never got to the point where I was completely comfortable with them before it ended, and I have just recently found a new group that I am having a lot of fun with that seems to be fairly stable.

Anyway after all of that reading I have several ideas that I want to write about, so I intend to start putting more information here including thoughts on system and setting ideas. Of particular interest to me are the ideas that I have been exposed to by reading the various Apocalypse World rules sets.

Also I want to get back to making notes for the Dungeons of Fate setting idea that I started this with, and got distracted from. I am not sure where all I will take this blog, but I want to start posting regularly.

Author: Hours without Sleep

I am a professional software tester, who has an interest in programming, computers, role-playing games, history, and reading in general. This is my third attempt at keeping a blog, and I am going to try putting all of my thoughts in one place, and see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

