Olympus, Inc.

When I started seeing promos for the new Olympus, Inc setting for Savage Worlds, I was only moderately interested. In fact I was less interested in the cyberpunk nature of the setting than the modern-day descendants of the Greek gods urban fantasy bit. I thought it would make good inspiration for a Percy Jackson and the Olympians game. Which would probably be a good setting to introduce younger people into the hobby.

Recently however the group making the setting put out a free preview, on DriveThruRPG, and when I downloaded and read it, I realized that it was so much more. When I read what Fabled Environments is doing, which is using the Super Powers Companion to build Arcane Backgrounds for the different character types be they Demihumans, scions of the mythological creatures (Minotaurs, Satyrs, etc), Paragons (demigods of pure bloodline), or Proteans (demigods of mixed bloodline), I realized what a great idea this was. It was something that I had not thought of before that had the potential to work in a lot of different spaces, not just this setting, and it is making me go back and re-read the Super Powers Companion again and to think about it in a different way.

At this point the Kickstarter has 19 days to go and is 61% funded. I hope it funds just so that I can see how they are going to build out these backgrounds.

Author: Hours without Sleep

I am a professional software tester, who has an interest in programming, computers, role-playing games, history, and reading in general. This is my third attempt at keeping a blog, and I am going to try putting all of my thoughts in one place, and see how it goes.

5 thoughts on “Olympus, Inc.”

  1. Ditto for me. The setting looked interesting enough but not so enticing to make me open my wallet. However, reading the preview sealed it for me. Putting out that preview might have been the best thing they did for this kickstarter. Hopefully enough people take the time to read it and see what it’s all about.

  2. When I originally read the Percy Jackson books, my first thought was how easily the Super Powers Companion could emulate it. So I’m not surprised that they chose to employ it.

    1. My first exposure to the Percy Jackson books was well before I had seen the Super Powers Companion, and now I wish I had thought more about the potential for the Super Powers Companion when I originally read it. Since reading the preview, I have had ideas bouncing around about how to build certain things for some early setting ideas of mine.

Leave a Reply

