Rules I need to remember to use

There are three situational rules that I have never used while running a Savage Worlds game that I need to make specific efforts to incorporate in my games. In fact there are instances of two of them that, if I had remembered them, would have been good in the last games that I ran.

The first of rule is the Chase rule. While I don’t normally set up chase scenes, just making sure that I have them in my pocket so to speak will be good in the future, because you never know when the characters will either be chased by a large group or end up chasing another group. The basics of these rules are you roll the dice for an appropriate trait that would be used based on the type of movement in the chase, and add any modifiers. For every success and a raise you get to draw one card, and you get to pick the best card to use for your turn. Now most chases are setup in a time boxed number of rounds (most are five or ten rounds long), so you either need to catch those you are chasing and stop them, or keep ahead of those chasing you for the time boxed number to escape. The item that I would want to prep for when using these rules are the cases where a complication comes up just to keep them interesting.

The second rule is the Dramatic action rule. This is one of the rules that I would have found useful to use in the last game that I ran if I had remembered them. Now dramatic tasks are set at five rounds in duration and you must achieve five successes before those five rounds are up. Now don’t think that these rounds are combat rounds because they might not be. For example if you are doing a dramatic task to research a ritual each of those “rounds” might be a day in length, of if it is disabling a bomb they might be normal combat rounds. Again though the big thing to prep for in this are any complications that happen during the action.

The third rule is the Social conflict rule. This is also one that it would have been really useful for me to have prepared for, especially because one of the characters was designed to be a strong “face” person. I will accept that I did fall down on the job here since I didn’t review this rule while preparing for the session, but also in my defense I had never played in a group that wanted to highlight the social interactions. These are three rounds long and again you roll the appropriate social skill, or possibly the lower of your social skill and some other related skill if  you need to present some type of argument such as knowledge law for a trial.

So the next time I run a game of Savage Worlds those are the three rules that I will want to brush up on and have cheat sheets for so that I can easily pull them out for use in a session.

Author: Hours without Sleep

I am a professional software tester, who has an interest in programming, computers, role-playing games, history, and reading in general. This is my third attempt at keeping a blog, and I am going to try putting all of my thoughts in one place, and see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

