The City of Angkor

The city of Angkor is a little over a days walk from the great canyon through which runs the mighty river Karos. It is ruled by the God King Ishshak. This is a massive city the outer portions built using mud bricks, and the oldest parts of the inner city are made with stone. The center most building in the city is a giant ziggurat inside which Ishshak lives and rules over all that he can see. His priests roam the city dressed in orange robes, keeping a watchful eye on all that happens, and capturing those that break the laws of the city.

The city is split into four districts with each district sub-divided into four neighborhoods. The main roads that do these splits are wide enough for two wagons to be pulled along, one going each direction, and still have enough room to be lined with Cedar trees and irrigation ditches. Those roads that divide the neighborhoods are almost as wide, and the main streets in any neighborhood is still wide enough for a wagon to traverse. Between each building there are also alleyways that make a confusing warren of passages that allow the locals to quickly travel to their destination, but ill quickly confuse and loose those not from the neighborhood.

The society divided into five different castes, for the most part different castes do not interact with each other, and keep to themselves. The lowest caste, called Parrisu is the one in which the criminals, debtors, and those used to pay off debts are placed. This is not an hereditary, so children who are born to parents in this group are not of it, and if someone marries a member of this group, they are also move out of it. The next lowest caste, called Erresu, is filled with those who are farmers and raise livestock. This is also the largest social group equal in size to all of the others combined. This is the first of the hereditary castes. The next caste is the Tamakaru, who are the merchants, buying and selling goods, and trading with other cultures. Most are fairly well off, and can afford to pay for their children to be educated. The second highest caste is the Mar Bani or noble man. This group are those who collect the taxes that are due, maintain the cities infrastructure, and train to fight in any conflict that the city might be involved in. The highest caste is the Enu, or priest. The priests tend the temples and patrol the streets looking for those who violate the laws handed down by Ishshak and punishing them appropriately. They also serve as scribes and historians of the city state maintaining a great library just south of Ishshak’s zigguarat.

At the end of each year a lottery is held with the names of all the children born during the year. Six names are chosen, and those children are sacrificed to the gods representing the six cardinal directions(Adi [up], Abatu [down], Madenhu [east], Amurru [west], Istanu [north], Sutu [south]), ensuring the prosperity for the city during the following year. At the end of the sixth year, instead of sacrificing those six children, they are raised to the caste above their parents and Ishshak himself is sacrificed in their place during a public ceremony, a vigil is kept over the body, and no one is allowed to approach it. The morning after the sacrifice Ishshak returns to life.


Author: Hours without Sleep

I am a professional software tester, who has an interest in programming, computers, role-playing games, history, and reading in general. This is my third attempt at keeping a blog, and I am going to try putting all of my thoughts in one place, and see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.