Weird War I

The Weird War I kickstarter project started on Tuesday. It has already reached its funding goal, and continues to unlock stretch goals. In honor of this I thought I would put together a few links to items that I find interesting from World War I.

The first item I have a couple of links for, the underground cities of World War I, an article that talks about them is here, but there are a number of other articles about these

s cities, and one photographer has even started putting photographs in an album online here. These real locations are fascinating and the images give some insight into how the soldiers coped with the war, and there are many ways that these could be used in this setting raising the horror and fear factor.

The second item is information on the trenches of the western front. You can find a fair amount of information on Wikipedia, and some information on what life was like in the trenches here.

In fact the second page, First World War.com, has an incredible amount of other information including documents from the nations involved, weaponry used, maps, and vintage images.

This link covers legends of deserters who lived in no man’s land scavenging for food, clothes and weapons. Other sites also cover various legends and myths from the war, and here is another list of mysteries from World War i

All of these resources are bound to inspire many sessions.

Author: Hours without Sleep

I am a professional software tester, who has an interest in programming, computers, role-playing games, history, and reading in general. This is my third attempt at keeping a blog, and I am going to try putting all of my thoughts in one place, and see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

