7th Sea Sorte Deck Preview

I have been thinking of about the two page Sorte Deck preview rules that were released here, and while I don’t like using cards as a randomizer, there are some good bits in these rules.

I definitely would not use them as the primary randomizer, but I do like the idea of using the Major Arcana to set the special rules for a scene. There are two reasons I would not use the cards to generate the raises in the risk resolution. The first is that it will by the time you finish dealing the cards alter the probabilities too much and depending on how you deal them out it will either impact the person who gets the last set most, or if each person gets one card at a time the ones that get the largest number of cards. This is because there are only four of any card in the deck, so unlike with dice rolls, you can run out of tens or any other number. The second reason is because in an effort to minimize the loss of options, you need to shuffle the deck after each round to get your full probabilities back, which is now an increase in time spent between rounds.

In a more limited fashion, I would be happy with the cards being used in a more limited fashion. An example of this would be how Savage Worlds uses cards for initiative and certain other sub-systems (chases, travel, dramatic tasks), but the standard resolution mechanic is the dice. Maybe if they drew one card from the deck and that potentially impacted the scene especially with information on how the different face cards change the rules for the round, though I might keep this limited to just the Major Arcana like the rules in this preview. The other bit that I am interested to see more fleshing out than this brief preview gave us was the usage of the Major Arcana. I am looking forward to seeing what the rest of the cards do.

If I were to use this, I would probably draw one card for each scene and let the player’s spend a hero point to change it, otherwise it sticks and if it is a face card or a Major Arcana, it changes the rules of the scene, otherwise the rules remain unchanged. If there are other rules for the use of the Sorte Deck, I will have to evaluate them when I see them.

Author: Hours without Sleep

I am a professional software tester, who has an interest in programming, computers, role-playing games, history, and reading in general. This is my third attempt at keeping a blog, and I am going to try putting all of my thoughts in one place, and see how it goes.

1 thought on “7th Sea Sorte Deck Preview”

Leave a Reply

