The way I understand what a raise means in the new 7th Sea

People seem to be viewing what spending the one raise to accomplish the intent of the risk as something far greater than what I see it as. In the comments on the kickstarter, I have seen lots of complaints that you never fail any task which while for the most part true (it is going to be very rare for anyone to get zero raises on a roll of any size), I find misleading because they seem to be viewing this as if this was a success in a D20 system game where as long as you succeed, you don’t have to suffer any repercussions. I would argue that this is not the right way to view it, but rather you would be better off thinking this is similar to the 7-9 result in an Apocalypse World game. You got the core of what you wanted, but you didn’t get everything, and now you have to make decisions about which of the things that you didn’t want to happen did or which extra items you wanted to happen, but don’t because you don’t have the resources to make them happen. I think this is a very important distinction that people are failing to recognize when they read that it only takes one raise to accomplish your intent. This is has now been expanded with the revised quick start rules that now have both consequences and opportunities.

Advertisements

Author: Hours without Sleep

I am a professional software tester, who has an interest in programming, computers, role-playing games, history, and reading in general. This is my third attempt at keeping a blog, and I am going to try putting all of my thoughts in one place, and see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s