Generational Games

While waiting on the funding for the Weird War I to make its way through kickstarter and to Pinnacle, I thought I would go back and look over the Weird Wars Rome setting for the first time since I read it a year or so ago. In it I found something that I had forgotten about that could be useful for games where the players play several generations in a family.

The rule are for the legacies that a character earns over a carrier and passes on to their descendants when they retire.  In Weird Wars Rome, the rule is you draw one card, plus one for each promotion and award that they get during the campaign. Each card drawn gives certain benefits or drawbacks and each one is applied to the next character that is made (duplicates as well if they are make sense). Now while Weird War Rome only gives ten options that are tailored for its setting, with some effort, you could create a new table of items for a different setting with more or less options. In fact I could see this being used for a game that covers families in Deadlands Reloaded, Deadlands Noir, and Deadlands Hell on Earth, for use in a military family whose children fight in Weird War I, Weird War II, and Tour of Darkness, or for any other setting where you want to have the action take place over more than one generation.

Author: Hours without Sleep

I am a professional software tester, who has an interest in programming, computers, role-playing games, history, and reading in general. This is my third attempt at keeping a blog, and I am going to try putting all of my thoughts in one place, and see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

