7th Sea and Accursed

I haven’t had as much time this last week to read as I would like, so I haven’t finished anything lately, but the last couple of things that I have been reading have either been for the first edition of the 7th Sea RPG and a couple of the books that I got from the last Accursed kickstarter. While reading these books (I am currently reading the GM’s guide for the 7th Sea and will be reading another of the Accursed books after I finish this one), I find that I am drawn to the 7th Sea setting in a way that I am not for the Accursed setting.

I am sure that both settings have problems with their portrayal of the cultures involved, but I find the way the 7th Sea did it to be more believable and cohesive. Now, I have not read any of the books that handle areas beyond the core continent for Theah so anywhere beyond that I might have problems with, but with its focus on “not Europe” the countries seem to fit together and the tweaks to “not Europe’s” history are for the most part things that make sense to me as someone who didn’t extensively study European history. In Accursed’s world of Morden, the world makes less sense, and while there are some countries that I can see are thematically related to those of Europe, Asia, and even a Egypt analog, they seem more smashed together in a way that doesn’t really fit. I just don’t see how an ancient Egyptian country could exist next to a medieval Russian style country with a semi industrial country with trains just a little further south. It just doesn’t makes sense to me and feels like someone cherry picked country/time frame concepts from the real world that they liked and smashed them all together.

I will say that I do like the setting concept for Accursed, the known world was crushed by an evil invading force that twisted its inhabitants to use against its defenders. That is gold to me, I like the concept of being the underdogs, the resistance, those that try to restore the world after it has all gone to hell, I am just having a hard time getting over jarring potpourri of countries that they populated the world with.

I will also say that all is not rosy of the 7th Sea side, and while I like the concept of the mechanics, I remember them not playing as well as I thought they would. So one of these days, I intend to at least write-up the Swordsman schools and Magic for Savage Worlds. I just don’t know when I will have time to do that.

Author: Hours without Sleep

I am a professional software tester, who has an interest in programming, computers, role-playing games, history, and reading in general. This is my third attempt at keeping a blog, and I am going to try putting all of my thoughts in one place, and see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

