Savage Rifts Design Diary 2

When I read the second design diary for Savage Rifts, found here, I was excited by how I interpreted what was said about the Iconic Frameworks. To me this sounded similar to what Olympus, Inc was going to do which is something that I was keen on seeing, and keep getting disappointed when the projects fail to fund or get shut down just before they would have funded. And while I am sure there are going to be differences in how each of these settings create

their power frameworks, I still badly want to see them to get a better understanding of how they are going to use the Super Powers Companion to build up these arcane backgrounds/iconic frameworks depending on which system we are talking about (Olympus, Inc./Savage Rifts).

The nice thing about things being built this way is that with enough research, it should be greatly extensible, allowing people to convert existing Rifts character types into Savage Worlds, or creating brand new character types that are at least somewhat balanced against the rest of the game.

The next thing that I am interested in is the concept of the Iconic Frameworks. I want to see how they are implemented in the rules and what they cover as something that could be easily imported into any settings that I create. For example I have been thinking of working on a conversion of the 7th Sea to Savage Worlds or creating an implementation of the World of Watches settings. Depending on how the Iconic Framework concept is implemented, it could be something that would work well for either of these settings.

For example, in the 7th Sea, the Iconic Frameworks could be the different swordsman schools or the different magical traditions of the noble bloodlines. The example from the World of Watches would be the different types of “Others” (Vampire, Shape-changer, Healer, Sorcerer, etc.)

Anyway, if you have any interest in Rifts, or if the idea of some new Savage Worlds setting “tech” sounds interesting to you, then I would recommend that you check out the kickstarter that is going on now.

Author: Hours without Sleep

I am a professional software tester, who has an interest in programming, computers, role-playing games, history, and reading in general. This is my third attempt at keeping a blog, and I am going to try putting all of my thoughts in one place, and see how it goes.

2 thoughts on “Savage Rifts Design Diary 2”

  1. When Rifts and the Iconic Framework work I really like to see TMNT (Mutants Down Under, Road Hogs, …) or Heroes Unlimited brought to SaWo. I loved to play both back in the days. And what about Robotech?!

    1. A Robotech savage setting would be awesome, but I am not sure what more would be needed for a Heroes Unlimited setting than the Super Powers Companion.

Leave a Reply

