Thoughts on a way to run CthulhuTech in Savage Worlds

Early on I found CthulhuTech and quickly bought up most of the books in it because I found the idea of the setting to be very interesting. After reading the books that I had gotten, I found that the setting did stand up to my expectations. Unfortunately, the rules system didn’t measure up to the setting. To me it seemed like the various ways to get the total from any dice roll, while interesting in a philosophical sense, were not practical for play. Between that and the various problems that the company kept having lead me to stop following its development. It has been years since I read the books, and while I no longer remember the details of the setting, I still remember some of the concepts that I enjoyed about it even though it is still on my bookcase. Recently though, I heard that there was an open beta for the second edition of this game that is available on DriveThruRpg, and that as well as reading Codex Infernus and the Rifts for Savage Worlds kickstarter got me thinking about it again.

Now bear in mind I haven’t read any of the new edition, nor am I privy to any of the information in the Rifts Kickstarter, but based on what I know and expect to be in Rifts and CthulhuTech, I think that you could combine Rifts for Savage Worlds, Codex Infernus, Savage Worlds Superpowers Companion and possibly some Interface Zero 2.0 concepts and make a pretty good conversion.

The basic idea behind CthulhuTech is that humans find a way to combine magic and technology to create an engine that produces endless power. This leads to a whole new area of technological pursuit the combination of technology and magic. Unfortunately the Migou who have a colony on Pluto know that research in this area will draw the attention of the elder gods, so the Migou create a race similar to humans to attack the earth. Eventually the humans survive this war, and even adopt this race, while continuing their research. In a last-ditch effort to avert the disaster, the Migou themselves attack. Unfortunately it is already too late, so the humans and their allies end up fighting a war on multiple fronts. On one front are the Migou, on another the Elder Gods and their minions, and in addition to this there are various monstrous cults that are also trying to bring about the end of the world.

Some of the items that I would take from these sources are:

  • From Codex Infernus: the corruption mechanic, also we can probably modify some of the creatures from this to use as elder gods/monsters. Possibly there are other items that I haven’t gotten to in my readings yet.
  • From Rifts for Savage Worlds: the rules for the various power armors that will be useful for building out the various mecha that are used by the humans and the migou. Also we can probably modify the monsters from this to be the elder gods/monsters from beyond space-time. The arcanotech can also in all probability be simulated with the technowizard items.
  • From the Savage Worlds Super Powers Companion: the Tager and Dhohanoid might be built as arcane backgrounds using the various powers and abilities.
  • From Interface Zero 2.0: we could use the hacking rules as well as the rules for drones.
Author: Hours without Sleep

I am a professional software tester, who has an interest in programming, computers, role-playing games, history, and reading in general. This is my third attempt at keeping a blog, and I am going to try putting all of my thoughts in one place, and see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

