Inspiration for Deadlands, Noir or El Hipnotizador as inspiration

Last month, my wife and I finished watching a HBO Latino show called El Hipnotizador. It was a show about a hypnotist who had lost his memory and had insomnia set in the time between the wars (World War I and World War II). It was set in a large nameless city where the inhabitants spoke both Spanish and Portuguese (I had to watch with the English subtitles) and all the characters seemed to switch back and forth between the languages. You can find the recaps I wrote of the episodes here.

I have mentioned the show previously because one of the episodes dealt with a person who could take the memories of a day in your life. This time though I wanted to point out that the entire show has many elements that could be used in a Deadlands Noir game from the Theater where Arenas (the main character) works as he tries to recover his memories, to the character of Castor who makes a good Patent Scientist. The episodes would all make good scenarios for a game (each has a mystery that needs to be solved or a puzzle to be worked out).

Author: Hours without Sleep

I am a professional software tester, who has an interest in programming, computers, role-playing games, history, and reading in general. This is my third attempt at keeping a blog, and I am going to try putting all of my thoughts in one place, and see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

