50 Fathoms

I have been playing in a 50 Fathoms game for most of the last year. I have enjoyed it a lot and taken my Spanish swordsman in a number of different directions from what I had originally planned. He started off as a swordsman, and then early on started picking up magic, and at this point he is now an archmage (able to use spells from all four elements). The next change might be to become a ship’s captain we recently acquired three extra ships that we have to figure out what we are going to do with.

One of the things that I like about Savage Worlds is how easy it is to alter your character’s path and still be a useful member of the group. I mean it wasn’t originally in my plan to pick up magic, but one of the early items that I ended up acquiring was a spell book, and I just used that as inspiration to take a turn. With the acquisition of all the new ships, we decided we wanted to follow a pirate vessel that was much bigger than ours and find out where they were going, so the players all boarded one of the smaller ships and they nominated me as captain so we followed them and returned to what has become our base port. So tonight, if we are going to continue traveling in this boat, I will plan to spend my next advance to increase my boating to take on the role of captain.

The big thing we are going to need to work out is what to do with all of these ships. We know we don’t want to split the players among the various ships. That splits the party too much, and our current ship is captained by an NPC with us as the crew.

As to the 50 Fathoms setting, I have enjoyed it a lot, so much so that I purchased the setting guide after reading the player’s section and playing in the game for a month or so. So far though I have not opened the book because I do not want to spoil any of the surprises. So when the game ends, it will move up to the top of my list of books to read, and I so look forward to spending some time with it.

Author: Hours without Sleep

I am a professional software tester, who has an interest in programming, computers, role-playing games, history, and reading in general. This is my third attempt at keeping a blog, and I am going to try putting all of my thoughts in one place, and see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

