Achtung Cthulhu Guide to North Africa

So tonight I just finished reading the Guide to North Africa for Actung! Cthulhu. It structurally this book is very similar to the last one that I read (the Guide to the Eastern Front). In fact it has only one extra chapter compared to the last one, but that is an important chapter dealing with survival in the Sahara and North Africa. The highlights for me are the location. There are a lot of things you can do/find/have hidden in the southern Sahara. Tie that in with the fact that you can send small squads (read just the PCs) on patrols and expeditions out there you can get a lot of play just out of this aspect alone. I also liked the introduction of “Irem Zhat Al Imad”. It makes a great focus for a campaign in the desert. Find Irem before Black Sun does and work to prevent them from accessing it. Last of all the Nachtwolfe Expedition HQ, having the players find this base at some point in the middle of its collapse due to the concentration of blue crystals can provide a great backdrop for an infiltration mission, a cross between Aliens and Invasion of the Body Snatchers.

Things that I wasn’t as inspired by, I just don’t find the military action on the African front as inspiring as I did the Eastern front (not this books fault), I knew more about this area of the war. The artifacts and books were not as inspiring. I don’t know why but I expected better in this area for this region. Last of all, the adventure seeds didn’t seem as inspiring as they could have been.

Now don’t get me wrong, I am glad I both got and read the book and there is a lot of really good information in it, it just seemed to not be as exciting as the last one. So while it will definitely deserves a place in my collection, and it is by all standards a good book, it just seems lacking compared to the previous books that I thought were so very good.

Anyway, I am ready to read the next book, Achtung! Cthulhu Guide to the Pacific Front.

Author: Hours without Sleep

I am a professional software tester, who has an interest in programming, computers, role-playing games, history, and reading in general. This is my third attempt at keeping a blog, and I am going to try putting all of my thoughts in one place, and see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

