Converting Content to Savage Worlds or Savaging Your Favorite Rifts Ideas

So I just finished reading the PDF Savaging Your Favorite Rifts Ideas, it is the free PDF that was part of the Rifts for Savage Worlds Kickstarter. I hadn’t intended to write anything about it specifically, but after finishing it, I thought that I should point it out as something special. It contains tips and advice geared specifically for how to convert items from the Palladium version of Rifts to the Savage Worlds version that are not already included in the existing books.

The thing is that this book isn’t just about converting material from one version of Rifts to another, but more about how to convert anything to Savage Worlds. The advice given in this PDF is great with things like don’t re-invent the wheel just re-skin existing things when possible and then do minor tweaks. The advice about armor, powered armor and robot armor for the armor and toughness bonuses is great for any setting, the warnings about flat bonuses to damage are also important to keep in mind. I have seen how not keeping that in mind can lead to some very weird results.

A lot of the advice I read in here follows the same principles that I have been using when converting the 7th Sea material over to Savage Worlds, and is also the advice that I see on various Savage Worlds posts about how to convert a setting to Savage Worlds. Because of this, I would advise anyone who is new to Savage Worlds and looking to convert a setting get this PDF even if they have no interest in Rifts to use for advice. I almost wish that this was expanded to not just use Rifts examples, but to be a more general work that covers converting other media as well as other games, but even that would not take much extra space.

Author: Hours without Sleep

I am a professional software tester, who has an interest in programming, computers, role-playing games, history, and reading in general. This is my third attempt at keeping a blog, and I am going to try putting all of my thoughts in one place, and see how it goes.

4 thoughts on “Converting Content to Savage Worlds or Savaging Your Favorite Rifts Ideas”

    1. I think to me the difference between this and the information in Savage Worlds Deluxe is the moderately detailed example that they use to walk through the process for converting an Iconic Framework, but yes the core book does give some good information on this as well.

    1. I look forward to hearing that episode. I have more than a few Rifts books under the Palladium system that I would like to use in Savage Rifts. Monsters especially as I can use what we already have in the player’s guide to convert existing D-Bs to Savage Worlds races.

Leave a Reply

