A year in review 2016

It has been a productive year for me. I have read and written more over this last year than I have in a long time. I have been in a regular game for more than a year, which has been a nice change for me. I am continuing to work on posting regularly. I have also started working on painting miniatures sometimes with mixed results, but it is something that I am continuing to work on.

And with the start of the New Year, I will be running my first game in a couple of years. Which is something that I have been spending time preparing for over the last couple of weeks. I am also looking forward to what new kickstarters come out and to rounding out some of my existing collection of books and to those new settings that have come out recently or will come out that I have not had a chance to get yet.

Books read

Over the course of the year I read many books, some were ones that I had read previously, but also many new ones from various kickstarters that I had backed. For the most part the gaming books I read fell into one of three systems Apocalypse World Engine, FATE Core, or Savage Worlds. I did read a smattering books for other systems though. The books that I read where:

  1. Monsterhearts
  2. Blood of Misty Harbour
  3. Monster of the Week
  4. World Wide Wrestling
  5. Accursed Players Guide
  6. Accursed
  7. Sand and Stone
  8. Guns of Dagerov
  9. Achtung! Cthulhu Secrets of the Dust
  10. Acthung! Cthulhu Guide to the Eastern Front
  11. Achtung! Cthulhu Guide to North Africa
  12. Achtung! Cthulhu Guide to the Pacific Front
  13. Achtung! Cthulhu Interface 19.40
  14. Achtung! Cthulhu Elder Godlike
  15. Codex Infernus
  16. East Texas University
  17. Degrees of Horror
  18. Deadlands Classic 20th Anniversary Edition
  19. Deadlands Reloaded Player’s Handbook
  20. Deadlands Reloaded Marshal’s Handbook
  21. Smith & Robards Catalog
  22. Boomtowns
  23. Good Intentions
  24. Twilight Protocol
  25. Sawed An in Gomorra
  26. Land Beyond the Busted Doorframe
  27. All the Purty Little Horses
  28. Worms
  29. Skinners
  30. Adios Amigo
  31. Ground Zero
  32. Savage Passage
  33. Strange Bedfellows
  34. Night Train
  35. Independence Day
  36. Perdition’s Daughter
  37. Deadlands Noir
  38. Lankhmar City of Thieves
  39. Lankhmar Savage Tales of the Thieves’ Guild
  40. Savage Rifts Players Guide
  41. Savage Rifts Game Masters Handbook
  42. Murderthon
  43. Contamination Principle
  44. Savaging Rifts Ideas
  45. Tome of Destiny
  46. Garner Town Gambit
  47. Savage Foes of North America
  48. Frightful Expeditions
  49. Weird War 1 Player’s Guide
  50. Weird War 1 War Master’s Handbook
  51. No Mans Land
  52. In Vino Veritas
  53. Raid on Fort Douaumont
  54. 13th Warrior
  55. Savage Tales of Horror Vol. 1
  56. Savage Tales of Horror Vol. 2
  57. Savage Tales of Horror Vol. 3
  58. Do: Fate of the Flying Temple
  59. Young Centurions
  60. Dresden Files Fate Accelerated
  61. Burning Shaolin Redux
  62. Secrets of the Chi War
  63. Pulp Cthulhu
  64. Strange Revelations
  65. Encyclopedia of Impossible Things
  66. 7th Sea Players Guide
  67. 7th Sea Game Masters Guide
  68. 7th Sea Compendium
  69. 7th Sea 2nd Edition
  70. 7th Sea Villains kit
  71. Heroes and Villains
  72. The Illuminated Edda
  73. Angular 2 Development with TypeScript
  74. She Walks in Shadows
  75. Don’t Rest Your Head

I am pretty sure that I am missing some books in this list, but I don’t know for sure what they would be. It looks like I lost some records in Google Keep.

Kickstarters backed

This year there have been many wonderful kickstarters to back these were the ones that I choose to back:

  1. Deadlands Classic 20th Anniversary Edition
  2. Deadlands: Good Intentions
  3. Rifts for Savage Worlds
  4. Weird Wars 1
  5. 7th Sea Second Edition
  6. Accursed: World of Morden

The 7th Sea Second Edition kickstarter will be delivering for a long time to come, and I am definitely looking forward to what all they produce.

Kickstarters delivered

In addition I have had the following kickstarters finish delivering the rewards this year:

  1. Rifts for Savage Worlds
  2. Weird Wars 1
  3. Accursed: World of Morden
  4. Codex Infernus: The Savage Guide to Hell
  5. The Illuminated Edda
  6. Deadlands: The Cackler Graphic Novel
  7. The Strange
  8. Call of Cthulhu 7th Edition
    As to the kickstarters that have delivered, Pinnacle Entertainment Group has definitely done the best on that in relation to expected delivery dates, and in general Savage Worlds kickstarters seem to be the ones that are best about arriving on time.

In general I have been happy with all my kickstarters, and while I do have a couple of really long running ones, I have been and am quite happy with most of them. I look forward to the Fate Core kickstarter finishing to see what they come up with for the last of their rewards which is happening as expected.

Author: Hours without Sleep

I am a professional software tester, who has an interest in programming, computers, role-playing games, history, and reading in general. This is my third attempt at keeping a blog, and I am going to try putting all of my thoughts in one place, and see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

