Case of the Missing Lieutenant Postmortem

This case was originally inspired by the Call of Cthulhu scenario Bleak Prospect in the book Nameless Horrors. When I started planning this case before I found out what any of the characters were going to be, I figured I would start them off as residents of the Hooverville. When I started getting character backgrounds though, I quickly figured out that I was going to need to change things, so I switched the first victim to be the entry point by making him have a connection to the rest of the group that would bring them in.

One thing that I tried to do was to make sure that there were plenty of ways to get the group to the final showdown with the House and Sedgwick. Some of the options I had for how to get them to the final scene.

  1. There was an NPC in town that they could have talked to that got them that information.
  2. The boy Billy, who in the original adventure escaped would make it back to the Hooverville with the story.
  3. The diary that I added to Casper Brink’s house.

Another change that I made were the unexpected monster attack that happened when some of the members of the Midas group attacked the camp. I decided to do this because I was pretty sure that the fear level in the camp was going up, and a monster in the Deadlands Noir book matched the description of what the camp thought was going on. Now because of the Adventure Card that was played to keep Jake alive, that monster will now show up again to cause mischief.

I did not use the Living House which is what Hawkes became after the machine’s containment failed as much as I could have, nor did I request any fear rolls for the final session. That was after what in all probably should have been two separate heart-attacks that were rolled in earlier sessions. In fact I quickly realized that the Living House could have easily killed the group inside it, and since I didn’t want that to happen, I mostly played it as resisting their efforts to escape.

For the few scenes that were combat/location heavy I used my Tact-Tiles that I got from the kickstarter in 2014. I find that I like the wet-erase markers on it better than the dry erase ones (the wet erase ones are easier to clean off). I also need to find a collection of miniatures that are appropriate for the time frame. Things like mobsters mostly, but also zombies and other things of a similar nature.

I am planning to try to switch things up a little bit for the next case. I want to try to make use of the Dramatic Task rules from Savage Worlds which is not something that I have done before.

If you want to see the notes that I had for this case (all of the information in them is stuff that the characters found out) you can find that here.

Author: Hours without Sleep

I am a professional software tester, who has an interest in programming, computers, role-playing games, history, and reading in general. This is my third attempt at keeping a blog, and I am going to try putting all of my thoughts in one place, and see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

