Cortex Prime and Eclipse Phase Second Edition

I backed the currently running Eclipse Phase Second Edition and Cortex Prime kickstarters. I backed each of them for different reasons, and I am expecting different things from each of them.

For the Eclipse Phase Second Edition, I am mostly looking forward to reading the setting. While the improvements in the game mechanics sound good, I am also pretty sure that they are not going to go far enough for me to want to play or run, but as long as the setting is as good and more importantly the book better organized than the first edition was, then this is going to be an awesome source of inspiration, and ripe for use with other systems that I am willing to play or use. Right now I am going back and re-reading the first edition books since I haven’t touched them in years, and was inspired to look at them in part because of the announcement and in part because I have been watching the Expanse. The great thing about both of the book and the show is it is inspiring me to think more about how to run a science fiction game which I have never felt particularly comfortable doing.

For the Cortex Prime, I am backing it for the rules concepts more than anything else. My only experience with the Cortex system is from the Serenity game, one of the earliest implementations. What I expect from this kickstarter is something similar to what we got with the Fate Core kickstarter. A game with a bunch of dials to tweak for different genres and some examples that make use of those dials. At this point I don’t know that it will give as many examples or as many details on the different dials as the Fate Core kickstarter, but even with only a tenth of those and if I never use the rules system, it will provide inspiration for the Savage Worlds rules set with its different framework for how to do some of the things just like Fate Core, and the Apocalypse World engine has given me ideas, and it will be well worth the money I put into it.

Anyway, if either of these things sound good to you, I would suggest that you at least give these kickstarters a look. When they complete and deliver, I will write more about each of them.

Author: Hours without Sleep

I am a professional software tester, who has an interest in programming, computers, role-playing games, history, and reading in general. This is my third attempt at keeping a blog, and I am going to try putting all of my thoughts in one place, and see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

