Savage Potter Session 1

Character Creation

We started the session with creating characters. There were a lot of questions because we didn’t know what setting specific rules we were going to use. Once we got that figured out at least mostly, the rest of character creation went smoothly. We as players got some bonus skills and an extra free bee edge for our Arcane Background. We are starting the game as fifth years at Hogwarts. We also got a bonus based on the house that we were placed in.

The other characters are:
1. Moira, a student specializing in divinations from House Slytherin.
2. Trent, the star Beater from House Hufflepuff.
3. Lilith, the half Veela enchantress from House Gryffindor

I am playing the child prodigy and transfer student from the Durmstrang Institute who was put in House Ravenclaw. I started with a name for the character as a running joke, especially since the only house I didn’t want the character to be a member of being Slytherin. Anyway here is the character.

Radim Šatan1 of House Ravenclaw

Agility: d4 Smarts: d10 Spirit: d8 Strength: d4 Vigor: d4

Hindrances: Cautious, Outsider (new transfer student from Durmstrang), Curious, Young, Quirk (Always taking notes, making lists, checking things off of lists).

Edges: Arcane Background Wizard, Prodigy, Rich

Skills: Knowledge Arcana d8, Knowledge Potions d10, Notice d6, Stealth d4, Throwing d4, Wizard d102

As to the character, think of him as one of those gifted children that end up skipping grades because he is so talented and smart, but he has no social skills and is still only as physically mature as a twelve-year-old making him three to four years younger than everyone else.

The story from Radim’s point of view

I am dropped off at the platform for the Hogwarts Express, and instead of milling on the platform, I immediately board the train and claim a birth and begin setting things up to brew a quick potion while I wait.

Eventually an older girl comes in and parks herself across one of the seats looking at me curiously. This would be Lilith. A little while later two more join the room observing me strangely. One is Trent who seems very outgoing and the other is Moira.

As I finish up the potion of Meal in a Cup sometime after the train starts, and I am just waiting for it to cool down when a school Prefect by the name of Dominic from House Gryphindor sticks his head in. He heard that something strange was going on in one of the cabins, and he assumes it was my potion making. I pull out five cups and put some of the potion in each and distribute them to the occupants of the car as well as Dominic and then drink mine. The rest of the recipients eventually drink theirs though some wait for others to do so before they do.

While I start packing up my supplies and tools, we find out that the other reason that Dominic is here looking to see if anyone has seen a fifth year from Gryffindor named Chloe. No one else in the room has seen her, so he moves on.

Later after the sweets trolley comes by, another girl comes by named Hannah who is also looking for Chloe. At this point Trent and Lilith decide to look for this Chloe, and I tag along to see the rest of the train and who I will be in school with. Eventually Moira decides to follow along.

Are first encounter is a with a first year struggle to get into a compartment upset that her rat was stolen by her brother. Lilith knocks on the door claiming to be a prefect. I meanwhile quietly begin teaching her the opening charm so that she can take care of this herself. The compartment’s occupants open the door to look out and Lilith forces the door open. The Slytherin boys deny having the rat, so I ask the girl what the rat’s name is and summon it to my hand to hand off to her. Then Lilith closes the door and uses the locking charm on it much to the consternation of the two Slytherin.

We continue along the train and eventually find the cabin with Dominic and another ex-student of Durmstrang by the name of Enzio Pajo. I greet him in Russian and we continue our search. Unfortunately we don’t find her before it is time to change.

Later we found out the Dominic has lost his Prefect’s badge. So now I know he can’t be trusted with responsibility.

We then arrive at the station and Hagrid greets me and offers me the option of going with the first years to be sorted or to have a private sorting ceremony. Since I don’t want to stick out anymore than I already am going to, I decide for the private ceremony (I don’t want the symbolism of the Sorting Hat ceremony to reinforce the perception of my being a first year. My age and size are already going to do that enough.

And that is where we ended the session.

Notes

Currently we are planning to play this every other week and I will be continuing the Deadlands Noir game on the other weeks. In these posts I will only cover the items that my character knows or cares about. An example of this is while I know who has the Prefect’s badge, my character does not.


  1. The name came from two different hockey players one Slovakian and the other from the Czech Republic. 
  2. I got the skills the way they are because of a couple of reasons. The first each character started with two free d4 skills. The other reason was that the Knowledge Potions was treated as a specialization of the basic Knowledge Arcana. So when I started specializing in Potions, it started from the base of the Arcana skill so that d10 only costed one more skill point. Originally it was going to be two points but the Ravenclaw advantage was an extra point in Smarts bumping what was a d8 up to the final d10 and leaving me scrambling to figure out what to do with the new skill point. It ended up in the Wizard skill. 
Author: Hours without Sleep

I am a professional software tester, who has an interest in programming, computers, role-playing games, history, and reading in general. This is my third attempt at keeping a blog, and I am going to try putting all of my thoughts in one place, and see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

